BYLAW NO. 1955

MUNCIPAL DISTRICT OF WILLOW CREEK NO. 26

A Bylaw of the Municipal District of Willow Creek in the Province of Alberta, To Establish Electoral Division Boundaries.

WHEREAS the Council of the Municipal District of Willow Creek No. 26 wishes to adjust the electoral boundaries of the Municipal District and ensure that population distribution amongst the Divisions is consistent; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Sections 148, 149, 151 and 155 of the Municipal Government Act, being Chapter M-26, Revised Statutes of Alberta, 2000 and amendments thereto provide the legislative authority to establish electoral boundaries and other matters, and

WHEREAS the Council is dividing the municipality into seven wards; and

WHEREAS the Council is establishing a number for each ward; and

WHEREAS the council is establishing the number of councillors to be elected for each ward so established;

WHEREAS the Council is requiring that councillors are representatives for the ward in which they were nominated, that councillors are nominated by ward and elected by vote of the electors of each ward; and

WHEREAS the Council has provided an opportunity for public participation and has considered all information in a dutiful manner;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of the Municipal District of Willow Creek No. 26, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, enacts as follows:

1 SHORT TITLE

1.1 This Bylaw may be cited as the "Electoral Boundaries Bylaw".

2 **DEFINITIONS**

- 2.1 In this Bylaw, unless the context otherwise requires;
 - a) "Division" has the same definition as "ward" under the Municipal Government Act.

3 DIVISIONS AND DIVISIONAL BOUNDARIES

- 3.1 The Municipal District of Willow Creek No. 26 is hereby divided into 7 (seven) Divisions.
- 3.2 The boundaries of each Division are outlined within Schedule "A" which is attached hereto and forms part of this Bylaw.
- 3.3 Division boundaries fall in the centre of roadways or rivers marked as Division boundaries as set out in Schedule "A".
- 3.4 Each Division is assigned a number as set out in Schedule "A".
- 3.5 Each Division created by this Bylaw shall be represented by 1 (one) councillor and are to be:
- 3.5.1 Nominated by Division by residents of that Division, and
- 3.5.2 Elected by Division through a vote of the electors within that Division in accordance with the Local Authorities Election Act.
- 3.5 The title of the Chief Elected Official who shall be appointed from among elected councillors pursuant to Section 150(1) shall be 'Reeve'.

4 REPEAL

4.1 Bylaw No. 1847 is repealed upon third reading of this Bylaw.

5 ENACTMENT

5.1 This Bylaw takes effect upon third and final reading of this bylaw.

Read a first time this	_ day of	_, 2023	
			Reeve
			Chief Administrative Officer
Read a second time this	day of	, 2023	
			Reeve
			Chief Administrative Officer
Read a first time this	day of	, 2023	
			Reeve
			Chief Administrative Officer

SCHEDULE "A"

ELECTORAL DIVISION BOUNDARIES IDENTIFIED BY LEGAL DESCRIPTION

Division 1

Twp 5 RGE 27 W4, Twp 6 RGE 27 to 26 W4, TWP 7 RGE 26 to 24 W4, Twp 8 RGE 26 to 24 W4 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek.

TWP 9 RGE 26 to RGE 25 W4 south of the Old Man River and following the most Northern Boundary of the Town of Fort MacLeod

Division 2

Twp 9 RGE 30 to 27 W4 that are within the within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

Twp 9 RGE 26 W4 and TWP 10 RGE 26 W4 west of RGE RD 264 that are within the within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

Division 3

TWP 9 RGE 25 W4 not including the area within the Town of Fort MacLeod and south of Old Man River

TWP 10 RGE 25 W4 and TWP 10 RGE 24 W4 South of the Old Man River that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 9 RGE 24 to 23 W4 that are within the within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

Division 4

TWP 11 to 14 RGE 30 W4 Excluding Sections 36, 35, 26, 25 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 11 RGE 29 to 27 W4

TWP 12 RGE 29 to 27 W4

TWP 13 RGE 29 to 27 W4

TWP 14 RGE 29 W4

Division 5

TWP 9 RGE 26 W4 East of RGE RD 264 and North of the Oldman River and the Northern Boundary of the Town of Fort MacLeod

TWP 9 RGE 25 W4 North of the Old Man River

TWP 10 RGE 26 W4 East of the RGE RD 264

TWO 10 RGE 25 to 24 W4 North of the Oldman River that are within the within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 11 RGE 26 to 24 W4 that are within the within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 12 RGE 26 to 25 W4

Division 6

TWP 14 RGE 1 W5 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 14 RGE 30 W4 Sections 36, 35, 26, 25

TWP 15 RGE 1 W5 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 15 RGE 30 to 28 W4

TWP 16 RGE 2 to 1 W5 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 16 RGE 30 to 26 W4 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 17 RGE 28 to 26 W4 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

Division 7

TWP 13 RGE 26 to RGE 25 W4

TWP 14 RGE 28 to RGE 25 W4 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

TWP 15 RGE 27 to 26 W4 that are within the Municipal District of Willow Creek

ELECTORAL DIVISION BOUNDARIES IDENTIFIED BY MAP

